Click here to edit title

  Independent Appraisers and Consulting Gemologists since 1979

 

In all honesty, and I hate to blow my own horn, I only have 5 star reviews … I would post a 1 star here, but I haven’t had any.

 


Trista A  4/25/2016  PORTLAND

I'm going to have a ring redesigned and wanted to make sure that the diamond that returns is the diamond I sent (family ring). Besides, I had misplaced the original appraisal (from the '70's or '80's) long ago. Looked on yelp and John at the Jewelry Appraisers of Portland had a location close to me and had great reviews. I submitted a question online before setting my appt, he answered within a few hours and I then went online and made an appointment. Very easy appointment-setting process.

Went in yesterday and it was a great experience. The location I visited was by Washington Square Mall and parking was easy (lots of parking so even if it wasn't a Sunday, wouldn't have been a problem). The appraisal was done while I was there and John identified and explained the "markers" of the stone and had me take a look as well. These were noted in the appraisal so I can look for the same "markers" when I receive the redesigned ring. I felt as though he did a great job explaining ring and how the value was determined - for the stones as well as the metal. I brought in a few pieces of jewelry but had just one for full appraisal - a few items I'd been suspicious of their authenticity and he confirmed my suspicions.

On top of that, there were a few items that were not appraised but are authentic. I had been planning on removing the stones and re-setting them in other pieces. His suggestion was that, if the stones didn't have sentimental value to me, to try to sell the pieces on consignment rather than pay someone to remove the stones/then re-set, as I would get more value. I hadn't considered that option but it makes complete sense.

I'll definitely be back after I receive the newly-designed ring to get a new appraisal.



Mary W.  2/27/2016 PORTLAND

John is skilled, efficient, personable and well accredited. We have utilized his services on multiple occasions. You get to sit with him in his office/lab as he makes assessments and appraisals. During our visits we learned a great deal about each piece he reviewed. The appraisal is very thorough with detailed reports on each piece including specific weights and sizes of components, clear pictures and current values. He also cleans your jewelry while he's working. This was time very well spent and a great, great value. I highly recommend his services.



Kevin K.  4/21/2015

I recently visited John's office for an appraisal, it was an excellent experience. This is *the* place to go for an appraisal in Portland.
John is not only friendly, but incredibly knowledgeable and passionate about his work. There simply is no reason to go anywhere else.

 


Michael P.    3/7/2015   

Another outstanding job by John at Jewelry Appraisals of Portland.  My family went in to his office on two difference occasions to get our rings appraised by this GIA GG expert.  We were impressed with his knowledge and ability to put together insurance quality appraisals.    Would recommend to anyone.

 


Ryan E.    1/6/2015

I couldn't be more impressed with the quality of service, helpful advice and useful information I received from John at Jewelry Appraisers of Portland. I went in to have some jewelry appraised and was looking for a honest opinion on what to do with it. He not only did an outstanding job at the appraisal but also took the time to explain to me all my options. I went in looking for just a jewelry appraisal but received a lesson in diamond quality, cut, price, and more. I left John's office with a sound understanding of the pieces I had and what to look for in the future. I cannot put a price on quality service but John's help was worth its weight in gold. (Pun intended)
 

I highly recommend going to see John if you are looking for an engaging (pun not intended) and informative appraisal. His pricing is more than fair and the education you will receive is invaluable.

 


Richard G.  7/16/2014

John was courteous, competent and efficient... an utmost professional that allowed our mission of having an insurance appraisal on a jewelry collection both pleasant and even educational.  

In researching certified jewelry appraisers in the metro Portland area, John's name and reputation consistently topped most lists for his credentials and certifications.  I wish to add to those bonafides that John is very personable and engaging.

All evaluations were conducted in our presence and John readily answered our questions thoughtfully and completely.  When we left his office, we had original and copies of the insurance appraisal and when we arrived at our home, we discovered that John had emailed all of the high-res images of the jewelry... an added customer-centric bonus.

We highly recommend John and will be back with additional pieces and collections now that we have access to a professional that has earned our trust.

 


Lance H.  5/7/2014  

I couldn't agree more with Nomad T's review.  John appraised an engagement ring for me and my fiance, Kristi, and we had a wonderful experience.  His knowledge, professionalism and experience doing appraisals is obvious within seconds of stepping into his office.  He is a pleasure to talk with and I have told countless people already about the great experience we had.  Thanks again John!

 


Rye E.  3/26/2014   

I had some items appraised by John, and I was very pleased with the experience. He explained the pieces to me, allowed me to see the items through his microscope, and he was very personable and engaging. At the end of the appraisal he presented me with a very nice report with information, and copies of the appraisal sheets for each item that I can give to my insurance company.

  

  

Norman T.  2/20/2014

IF YOU GO SOMEWHERE ELSE, YOU'RE DUMB.

Sorry, but it's true. The location is convenient, the parking is free.  He answered all my silly questions about insurance and appraisals, and his charge was less than other places ($95 for two rings). He was a delight to visit with and it was a pleasant half hour of my day. Walked out with everything I needed to get my rings insured.

I don't throw around 5 star reviews on Yelp, let me tell you. I just gave someone an A++ and still only gave them 4 stars. When Yelp paraphrases, "Woohoo! As good as it gets!" I figure it means it, so that's the only time I pick 5 stars. John is as good as it gets.
 


Erin M.  11/17/2013   

John appraised my engagement ring and band when my insurance required an independent appraisal after we upgraded the setting my husband originally proposed with. He was a pleasure to work with because he was pleasant and professional as well as passionate about his work. John answered every question I had, appraised my jewelry in a little over a half an hour while I was in the room, and prepared a document for my insurance company with a duplicate copy for my own records. I'd recommend him to anyone who requires an appraisal. His fee is $95, which feels fair for the work he does.



Robert M.  10/24/2013

I took in 6 rings that my dad had left me from years ago. I had no idea of their value. I thought at least a couple of them might have some value as my dad liked to wear jewelry and I had a ring of his appraised for over $5000, but it was not one of the ones in this bunch. Alas, all the rings had synthetic stones, and were only worth the gold content of the rings themselves. John took a picture of the 6 rings, gave me an estimate of the value of each ring's gold content, and charged me only for 15 minutes of his time. Amazing! If I had gone anywhere else I would have been out over $100 easy. I'm going to take Dad's ring in to get it re-appraised, as it's been 20 years, and I trust John now to do a great job at a good price.



Lisa S.    10/13/2013

John at Jewelry Appraisers was very friendly, knowledgeable and thorough. I haven't had a lot of experience with have jewelry appraised, but here is what I liked about John and I would recommend:

1) I didn't have to leave my jewelry. He does the work while you wait. One place I researched said I would have to leave my jewelry for up to 3 weeks!!

2) The pricing was fair. Other places I contacted charged by the piece ($115 for the 1st, $100 for the 2nd, etc...). John charges by the time spent in half hour intervals. He was able to complete the appraisal AND the paperwork, complete with pictures, for a watch and my wedding set in about 40 minutes for about the same cost as only 1 piece at the other place. 

3) I left with all paperwork in hand. Another place I researched was able to do the appraisal while I waited, but it was almost twice the cost and it would have taken 2-3 weeks to receive final paperwork.

 

I would use Appraisal Associates again and would recommend to a friend.

 


Sabrina A.  10/19/2012   

John appraised some jewelry for me, and I highly recommend him.  It took less than half an hour, he cleaned the jewelry for me, and sent me an electronic copy of the appraisal in addition to the hard copy.  5 stars!

 


Jeff S.  9/28/2012

Went to John to get an engagement ring appraised.  I had no prior experience with this process but I was very pleased with this experience.  He looked at the ring in front of me in the office, as opposed to a jewelry store taking it to the back room which would make me a bit nervous.  He also explained what he saw and let me look at it through the microscope so I could see the details.  Very professional and very reasonable pricing.  Would definitely recommend and I will go back for future appraisals.

 

 

Gina R.  10/28/2010

John at Jewelry Appraisers of Portland was fantastic - his thorough appraisal and explanation of the items, documents, etc., far exceeded my expectations. In fact, he gave me extra photos helpful for identifying my own jewelry in the future. I would recommend fully, Jewelry Appraisers of Portland!

 

 

Randy J.  3/4/2009   

I needed to insure a solid gold watch and a platinum and diamond ring that I had inherited.  The insurance company required an independent appraisal, not one from a jewelry store, I heard about John at the Jewelry Appraisers of Portland, and went to him. This guy is great! He really knows what he is doing and has very impressive credentials.


He did the appraisal right in front of me so I never had the watch or ring out of my sight.  I left with the full appraisal including photographs (one even taken through a microscope for the diamond) and paid less than I was quoted on the phone.  
If you have jewelry to appraise don't waste your time with a jewelry store sales person, just go to Jewelry Appraisers of Portland.  
Thanks John!

 

 


 * Truth in advertising:  The above reviews are from my actual Yelp! page, you can go and look:  http://www.yelp.com/biz/jewelry-appraisers-of-portland-portland

The location has been edited (since I'm not in Denver anymore  and no longer have a "redonkulous" view of the Denver skyline) but the reviews are about ME - the person you will be meeting with.

New Location - Same old me .... oy, and getting older...  additionally, at 60 (almost) I just got married and have taken my spouse's last name ... I'm now a Higley ... though I slip a lot and still say Fuller ... It's going to take a while.